Evaluate 3 – Self Reflection

This is one of my last requirements of my EOTC course.  I am supposed to reflect on my individual teaching abilities.

Strengths

I have a unique perspective on teaching online.   I have took classes and worked in distance education for most of my career.  Before teaching I worked with the distance learning program Project LEAP.  I was an early adopter of online learning.  I took my first class in an online format in a distance learning classroom during the summer of 1997.  I completed my entire special education certification in this format.   Since I was familiar with the set up,  I worked as classroom facilitator in that classroom for Mississippi State University.  In the spring of  2005, I took my first asynchronous class.  The class had both synchronous and asynchronous components.  I will say that online education was still in it’s infancy at this time.  I completed an administration certification and my EdS in Instructional Technology.  After finishing my EdS I begin ETMOOC.  Part of the class was starting this blog.  The summer after #ETMOOC I started my first online teaching job teaching for the Impact Academy part time.  To my surprise Impact was more blended learning then online.  This is my 2nd time to take the GAVS training course.  I did not complete the student teaching the first time.

 

I have been using online components in my class for most of my career.  It first it was a website I created for student to view and answer questions. Next I had the student begin to email their assignment in. In order to keep these assignments organized the student had to label both their email and the assignment a specific way.  Which was class period, last name, first name and assignment number.  It was easy to search through my email and find all the assignments that had been turned in correctly.  The next step was to use Angel LMS, which I believe now is part of Blackboard.  I took a class on online learning as part of my EdS program.  The program required me to design a shell and lesson inside Blackboard.  I learned a lot in the process.  Finally I have spent the last 3 years, teaching film and video production.  I discovered Google Classroom early on and have not looked back since.

So I taught in pretty much every online format.  I have used a variety of LMS.  I have even started on next phases of the online revolution.  I believe taking online video classes  and mobile apps are the next step.   Three years ago, I started an instructional  web series on how to use your iOS device. I give explanations of how to do thing in 60 seconds or less.  The name of the series is Tap That iOS.   I have begun working on creating  mobile apps.   I earned my Apple Teacher Certification and am Google Ninja trained.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another strength I have is  experience and I have continued to work in the industry.  In both states that I have taught film and video, it was required that the teacher have several years of experience working in the industry.  The state has since changed the rules to help meet the demand.   I have met several teachers who come from a technology background but have no real working experience in the industry.  My experience in the education and the film industry has opened up a lot of doors for me.

I continue to work and attend industry workshops to stay current in my field.  When I speak to my students I can speak from my experiences some as recently as this month.  This is one of the ways teaching a career tech is unique.  While I have been teaching I have seen the technology change tremendously.  I must stay current if I want to continue to do the best job for my students.  

Weakness 

“Pain is weakness leaving the body”  – US Marine Corp

I see my weakness is reading the data.  There is been so much emphasis on data I ran an analysis on my final exam a few years ago.  I took it to several math teacher who did not give me very much feedback  on the situation.  More recently when  I am using Google forms to give test I can see data.  Some of it i can interpret.  Here is some results for a test I gave when my school was on a traditional schedule.

IMG_0520

 

As you can see, the only 70.5 precent of the student got the correct answer on question 23.  The next year we moved to a block schedule which allowed me to work more hands on with the students.  In addition, I attended some industry training over the summer so my students benefited from my additional knowledge.  Here are the results of same 2 questions the next year.

IMG_0519

Although I  don’t if 70.5 was an acceptable number of correct answers I do know that 91.1% is an improvement over the previous year.  Although the tests were not identical, they covered the same material in a slightly longer updated test.

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

