Evaluate 2 – Data Driven Instruction & Analysis

The blog is for my EOTC course.  It might be noted that some of the data is not visible at first depending on your browser.   The images are wider then the text.  In order to see the images, you need to scroll to the side.  So I have reexamined the images to see what I am missing.

In the first image, you can see that how many students are in each of the sections.  This is helpful so that you can see plan around the number of students in your sections.   You can also see the start date.  In my previous online experience this was handy because some of the students rotated electives during the semester.

In the second image,  you can see more enrollment data.  If the student has an IEP or a 504 plan you can see that so you can make modifications.  You can tell if the student has completed the class orientation and how many weeks they will be enrolled.  This is going to be a little strange for me.  I never really had to worry how weeks the student was going to be enrolled.  I would think it would be easier to do put everyone into the shorter  class and know that if they fell behind they would still have a little longer to finish their assignments.

The 3rd image is a contact log.  I currently use them in my grade book program. The good thing about have this log as you can use it to document when you have spoke with a student or parent.   This may come in handy if the student fails and you can show where you have contacted parents to  help out.

The 4th image is an example of feedback on a particular assignment.  This is encouraging to the student and lets them know you are paying attention to their progress.

In the 5th image, it appear the top 4 students are making satisfactory progress and the bottom 4 are not making progress.  The students in the middle need a lot of encouragement so that they stay involves in the class.  So what I contact the student after their 1st missing assignment to see if they were having in trouble in the course.  After the 2nd missing assignment I would start to contact other stakeholders to get them involved.  One of the things I did to keep my students involved in my online courses was to push all my assignments up to the front of the class.  I wanted to give my students a chance to finish their work early.  If a student fell behind on my schedule, they would still have a chance to finish the course on time.  I liked challenging them to this. If you can see the data you might see patterns in student behavior and work with them.  Some students may need adjusting while other may not.

The 6th image show the information available in the grade book.  It worth mentioning that the student did fine on both of these assignments but there is still feedback on how to improve in the future.

The 7th image shows missed questions from an exam.  I think this will help to student to prepare for the final exam.  It should be handy to use this information to study for the exam.  The student can also see what they selected so they can go back and review the material.

The 8th image is real important.  This shows where a student has turned in their work.  I have had the problem recently where I forgot to hit the submit button and did not turn in something.  Later when I was reviewing the material I could see the assignment was missing so I was able to turn it in.

The 9th image is the feedback portion of the  8th image.      This allows the student more information then just a number.  I did a similar assignment with my 3rd year class.  It was also part of their  portfolio.  If the student did not make a 90 or better they had to redo the assignment for the portfolio.  So this would give them ideas about how to fix the problems.

I hope this answers some the question about data analysis.

 

One thought on “Evaluate 2 – Data Driven Instruction & Analysis

Leave a Reply

