Create 4 – Aggregating Lesson Material

The following is a blog for my EOTC class.

I have been using Google Classroom for the last few years to collect and present material to my students.  I did a demonstration of how easy it was to get started especially if you already use Google Apps frequently.  There are constantly adding features to the software.  One of the latest features is the ability to use this outside a education setting.  The problem I have with it is that it requires material to be uploaded at a daily or weekly basis.  There is no way to upload all the materials at beginning of the semester and leave it.  You can easy post questions, assignments or announcements into the feed. The material is stored in your Google drive so it is really easy to maintain.  Grading assignments is fairly easy and I believe you could export your results on an assignment.

I have also used Blackboard to teach my online Digital Photography class.  What I liked about Blackboard, is you were able to put everything into groups.  I would put my course materials in a folder.  Then I could put everything for week 1 in a folder, week 2 in a different folder etc.  When I used it last everything was put into units.  I did not set up the class but it worked just like that.  I was put in due dates and the assignments would show up on a calendar.  The biggest problem I had all the elective classes used Blackboard and the other classes were using a different system.  The students had to log out of one system and log into another.  This caused a lot of confusion.  Overall it was a good program but it would have been better to have had all the course in the same system.

I hope you enjoyed this blog.

One thought on “Create 4 – Aggregating Lesson Material

Leave a Reply

