Evaluate 1 – Formative Assessments

The following blog is part of my EOTC class.  I moved to a paperless classroom 5 years ago.  This has helped me out because I was forced to put my material online.  At the school I am leaving I had 90 GB stored on my Google Drive.  I am not going to say all of it was material that would have been printed.

So it should not be a surprise that my assessments are online too.  One of my favorite was to assess my students was to use Quizlet.  I encouraged my students to go to the site to study the words using the match game.  I had my students log into Quizlet so they could see the scores.  I would always play the game of few times.  The game kept a record of the high scores.  I would challenge the students to beat my scores, the scores of the other classes and old record holders.  While the student were playing the game, I would go around a look at the individual student scores to see how they were doing.  There were usually a few who get pretty competitive.  I judged the class on how the class as a whole averaged out.

When I finished the unit in my class,  It would be no surprise to find out that I used Quizlet again for 2 purposes.  One is I would use Quizlet live as review.  The students were fiercely competitive playing this game.  Once one group was ahead a few times, I would switch the groups.  The student would often use silly names, I would join in quietly from my computer under a false identity and play along.

The second way I would use Quizlet is to help me write the test at the end of the unit.  Whenever I would get stuck, I would use the Quizlet test mode to help me construct new questions.  I told the students this and I would see them taking the tests on their own.

The following is a Quilt  over film terms I created for my class.  I broke down this unit over several days because it is a lot of material.  I would give the students time at the beginning or the end of class to use the computers.   Quizlett

I hope you enjoyed the blog.  Be sure to follow my twitter for other discussions.

2 thoughts on “Evaluate 1 – Formative Assessments

Leave a comment