Communicate 1 – Communication Guidelines

The following is a blog for my EOTC class.  In this blog I will be discussing guideline for working in a online environment.

When working in an online environment communication is key. The student and instructor need to communicate on a regular basis.

Heres is a copy of a sample welcome letter.

Welcome to the  Audio Video Technology and Film program. This is the first class offered in the AVTF pathway.  Film is the fastest growing industry in Georgia.  Last year it was a 7 billion dollar industry.  I have been teaching film and video courses for the last 18 years and have worked in the industry.  It is a great time to be studying film because of all of the opportunities available for the future. 

I will be conducting my online session for this class  on Tuesday at 7 PM.  This will be an opportunity for you to learn more about film and ask questions about the material covered.  At these session, you will have the opportunity to earn credit for participating.  If you not available at this time, you may watch the recording of the sessions.    We will have our first welcome session on August 22nd.

If you have any questions you can reach me at my GAVS email address located below.  That is the best way to contact me.  I have also included my Google voice number that you can text.  I will check my email several times a day but will not be available to test until the afternoon.  Depending on when you log in daily, it may take 24 hours to answer your questions.

If you have any question about this course or material contact me.  If you have trouble with you computer or accessing your course you should contact the GAVS help desk.

 

Chris Holcomb

Audio Video Technology & Film

Georgia Virtual School

Online  Hours  4-9 PM

Teacher Email: chris.holcomb@GAVS

Phone (678) 75#####

Generic email

Hello Student name

I noticed you have not logged in for several days.  I care about how you doing in my class. I didn’t know if there is anything to I can do to help you at this time.  If you would like I can call you.  Please let me know

Mr Holcomb.

Stakeholders email

Hello Mr Student name

I am Johnny AVTF instructor.  He had been making satisfactory progress on his assignments this semester.  This last week he has not logged in as much and was wondering if you encourage him to stay on track.  if you have any questions feel free to email me

Thanks
Communication Policy
Please contact me via my GAVS email. That is the best way to contact me.  If there is an emergency you can text my number but I may not always be available to answer it quickly.

Tools for effective communication. I will be sending out weekly updates in D2l.

I hope you enjoyed my blog.

One thought on “Communicate 1 – Communication Guidelines

Leave a Reply

