Navigate 3- LMS Tool Categories

The following is a blog for my online EOTC class.  Identify the major tool categories in Learning Management Systems.

The most important tools in most LMS are the ones for communication and grading.   For most of my career, I have had some sort of online assignments for my class.  Communication tools are those most important to online assignments.  Do the students know when the assignments are due? Do they know where to find the requirements of these assignments? Do you have a way to remind the students of upcoming due dates and assignments? 

Most of my students who had trouble with my online assignments had the same problem.  They simply refused to log on or go to the relevant site to find the information.  My students who were good at communication where the students who were most successful.  They would often turn in assignments ahead of time or ask questions relevant questions to upcoming assignments.  

Another aspect of communication was the ability to announce upcoming due dates.  This was a nice little reminder to the students that a deadline is approaching.  I also like the ability to send group emails.  I use these sometimes to remind students that an assignment was due yesterday or that day.  I have found out that some of the students would complete their work but neglect to turn it in.  So this helped to get in missing assignments.  

Grading is another tool.  This allows the teacher to give valuable feedback to the students.  This unit didn’t go into depth but I have scanned ahead to other units (  doing work on phone/ wifi issues).  In my experience most recently with Google Classroom, was the ability to leave feedback was great.  With the feedback, I could say great job but you skipped 2 items. This way the student knows their work is fine but they need to more careful. 

  

One thought on “Navigate 3- LMS Tool Categories

Leave a Reply

