Navigate 2 – LMS Trends

The following post is part of my EOTC class.   I read several articles about LMS trends and consider myself  a little more opinionated about the subject.

One of the big trends I see potential for is more online video.  I am both a video teacher and use tons of online video for my classes.  Video can easily be incorporated into online classes.  I use tons of YouTube playlists in my face to face class.  I can use it to introduce a subject, review a subject, remediate a subject or for enrichment about a subject.

One of the nice things about YouTube is the ability to set a start time so the learning doesn’t have to watch the whole video.  If you want to reinforce a concept you have the video begin at that point.  With playlists, you could even create your own segway to the next topic  in between video.

I don’t see YouTube as being a fad. The service gets better every year.  The YouTube Kids service was introduced recently. YouTube Kids is great way for parents to safeguard their children when using online video.

The biggest roadblock when using online video is having a place to post the video. As more school districts ease the restrictions on more students will have access to the great content available.  There are other video hosting services available for schools to use but the ease of use on these sites leaves a lot to be desired.

There are plenty of YouTubers who put out education videos for both teachers and students.  Youtube even had at least one conference for educational YouTubers.

The Khan Academy and Ted Talks seem to cover wide variety of topics.  If you look around it is pretty easy to find a list of other educational YouTube channels just waiting to be discovered.  My favorites include CGP Grey and Rocket Jump Film School.  When a new topic or app is introduced new videos spring up fairly quick.  I planned a video on iOS app Clips only to to find out several videos during my research phase.

If you have any questions about using video with online or traditional class please email me at  holcomb.ca@gmail.com. Follow me on twitter and subscribe to my blog for more upcoming ideas for your media classroom. Subscribe to my youtube channel for iOS tips.

.
.

2 thoughts on “Navigate 2 – LMS Trends

Leave a Reply

