Participate 4 – Digital Health


The following blog is an assignment for my EOTC class.

It is hard to modify your online habits.  When I just had a desktop computer, I would go several days without turning it on.  Now using my iPad or my phone is just too convenient.  When I get out of bed in the morning, I grab my iPad so I can read the news or partipate in the #bfc530 twitter chat.  It seems that there is always something to do online.  I noticed this and try to schedule some down time. Social media can consume way too much of my time. I try to only log in every few days to Facebook, but I use twitter daily. So I try to limit my time on twitter to a burst in the morning and a little in the evening. 

One way I am modifying my online habits is by putting my iPhone and iPad on charge in the evenings. I keep the charger in my bedrooms I am less likely to have it within reach during family time and meals. 

The best thing students and teachers can do is to schedule their online time in advance.  One thing I did with my schedule was to schedule my online times before an offline activity that I would not miss.  For example,  I would plan to check my email right before breakfast.  Then I was less likely to stay online and continue working.  

I hope this helps with your online habits. Email me if you have any suggestions holcomb.ca@gmail.com.  Follow me on twitter and subscribe to my blog for more upcoming ideas for your media classroom.

Leave a Reply

