What now?

I just finished my Ed.S. in Instructional Technology. Since finishing my degree, I have been inspired to take my career to the next level. I have been working on several new projects since August. The first is an iBook for my class. About midway through the semester, I found out my curriculum was changing so I put it aside until just recently. I decided to take one chapter from the iBook and try it out this semester. So I threw together a rough draft and released a short “booklet” to my students.

My second major project is producing educational videos. After attending a video production industry meeting, I got the idea to start producing my own educational videos. My thoughts are to produce short high quality videos. If they are good and short enough people will watch them until they learn the material. So far we have have recorded 20 episodes and released 6 videos. We are releasing a new one weekly. My YouTube channel is http://www.youtube.com/tapthatios These are short videos on how to use your iPhone and iPad. My goal is to eventually create some videos similar to C.G.P Grey

So what do I mean by taking my career to the next level? Well this is what this blog is about. Armed with my new degree, some great ideas, and few new creations, I plan to change my current career path.

6 thoughts on “What now?

  1. Hi Chris

    Welcome to the ETMOOC! I’m going to be facilitating the session on Introduction to Blogging this week and I’m keen to know what aspects others would like me to cover.

    I saw in the #etmooc twitter that this is your first education blog so I was just wondering if you could tell me some of the main aspects you would like to know more about in terms of blogging? For example, what aspects have you struggled with or would like to know more about?

    Thanks
    Sue Waters

    1. Hi Sue,
      I am not sure how to answer your question. I guess my concern is how to use a blog as part of our class. I have contributed to another blog just recently but it was for entertainment.

      1. Sorry for putting you on the spot as I am aware that when you are starting out blogging that you aren’t always sure what you want to know. So thanks for taking the time to respond.

        Also it is a really good question! The whole idea of using a blog, and the other tools you will use, are to document and share your learning. When you blog effectively it does change the way you learn but it can take some time to appreciate that you are learning differently.

        I would recommend you write posts reflecting what you are learning as you go along. My approach has always been if I don’t know something, or ponder something, than others will be the same. For example, at the moment you could write a post reflecting on your etmooc workflow or ask others how they are doing it. With all the discussions happening on Google +, Twitter, on the Blog hub etmooc.org/hub/ and all the other places, how do you follow what is happening more effectively while not being overloaded. Or what are some strategies that have helped you that will help others?

        The other challenge is there is a lot of conversations going on in etmooc. Blogging is as much about commenting as it is about publishing posts. I would encourage you to make time to visit, read and interact on other participant blogs by leaving comments. A lot of reflection can happen when you write comments and commenting is an important part of collaborative learning.

        Thanks for the great question!

  2. First, your videos are excellent! I’ve already learned several new things. I have wondered why you couldn’t ignore a call when the phone is locked. Now I know that you can not only ignore it, but remind yourself to call them back or you can send them a text message. Thanks!

    Second, I’m not sure if it is just my computer, but your Youtube link seems to be broken.

Leave a Reply

